Couch to What?

A while back I showed my sister this You Tube clip from Dorothy Beal.  If you haven’t seen it, you NEED to watch it.  This clip inspires me more and more each time I watch it.  Anyway, I wanted it to inspire her as well…AND IT DID!  She was motivated and ready to start a running program.

I helped her find a Couch to 5k Plan to try.  I didn’t think I could write her experience with the plan for her, so I asked her to help write a post about it.  Hopefully her journey can help inspire others to start an active lifestyle as well!

1.  What is the name of the program you are using (can provide a link if they have one)
It is called the Couch to 5k Running Program.  I followed the workouts given on this website:http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

2.  What is your main goal to get out of this program?
It would be great if by the end of it, I could do just what it says: run a 5k, but I would say my main goal is to become healthier and more fit.

3.  Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely!  This program eases you into running by challenging you to work hard, while also giving you realistic goals.

4.  What do you like about the program?
I like how it makes running a reality for someone like me, who was completely out of shape and hadn’t really done any running in years.  It gives you step by step instructions that are easy to follow, and guides you through the tough process of beginning to run again.

5.  What are some things would you change about it if you could?
Hmm… I can’t think of anything!

6.  What is your favorite piece of running gear you use? (clothes, watches, treadmill, socks, shoes, etc)
Since I am just a beginner, I do not really have any favorite running gear in terms of what I wear, but I would say that I really do enjoy the convenience of having my treadmill.  It allows me to set a pace for myself as well as track my time and mileage.

7.  What shoes do you prefer to run in?
Being a beginner, I don’t really know too much about running (and running shoes) just yet, but currently I run in a pair of Asics that have worked pretty well for me.

*Side note:  I recently recommended she try some Saucony running shoes.  She now trains in a pair of the Saucony ProGrid Ride 5.

8.  Any inspirational words or words of advice?
Old, but classic: If I can do it, anyone can!

9.  When do you prefer to workout?  (time of day-morning, afternoon, evening, etc)
Afternoons seem to work best for me, but sometimes a nice morning workout is a great way to start the day!

10.  What is your favorite recovery food/drink? 
Water!  Lots and lots of water.  Although one time a friend gave me a smoothie that had frozen banana, peanut butter, milk, and bit of cocoa… delicious!

Our plan is to revisit this Couch to 5k Plan again on the blog to get more feedback from Lindsay about if it works and how she likes it.

One more thing…

Some of you may know that my sister is a very talented Pastry Chef.  What would a blog post about her be without a few pictures of her AMAZING creations?!  Enjoy!  You can also visit her website here.

Flower “bouquet” made of cupcakes

YES, this is a helmet cake! Amazing, right?

dog cake

wine bottle cake

fireman truck cake

fancy!

Can you believe this IS a cake?!

baby shower cake

Saints football

This one looks so real!

football jersey

movie time

bird house

running shoe cookies!

Have you tried a Couch to 5k Program?

Have you inspired someone to become more fit and healthy?

Leave a Reply

