“For when I am weak, then I am strong”

Once in a while, I need to wear this to remind myself…

Find Your Strong

Everyone needs a mantra!

I’m guilty of letting negative thoughts creep in while I’m running.  It sounds SO much easier to stop and walk or slow the pace way down.  It actually made me feel much better when my husband (2:38 marathoner) told me he gets these thoughts sometimes too!  (I think he’s better at fighting them off though).  It seems like a year ago I was much mentally tougher than I am now.  All of this marathon training and losing some of my short speed caused it, I think.

I consider myself lucky to have a husband who is a really talented runner.  I’m even luckier because he often will offer to run with me (at a much slower pace than he is used to) or pace me on a run.  During marathon training, I’ve been working a lot on running marathon pace miles (MP miles).  My marathon goal is to eventually run a 3:30.  This equals out to about 26.2 miles at 8:00 pace.  This pace isn’t bad, but 26.2 miles of it is tough!  I am SO in awe all of all of you who can run this pace or faster for a marathon.  I might need some tips!

Anyway, lately Brendan has offered to pace me during the MP miles.  The first time we did this, it was no problem.  We had both run in the morning, so we decided to only run 2 miles at this pace.  Make it real quick, no big deal.  This eventually turned into a weekly workout together.  We each run in the morning, on our own, and then a short run in the evening to work on some speed (1-2/week).  We also work on shorter speed stuff when our plans call for it.

Trial 1:  8:00, 7:38

Perfect pace partner, right?

The second time we did this type of workout, my Garmin was acting weird and not showing my distance or pace.  I didn’t want to stop to fix it because I was already “in the groove.”  Maybe it was a good thing that it didn’t work?

Trial 2:  6:51, 7:02

I almost cried, I was so proud.  I found “a strong” I knew I had, but have been afraid to let out.  My lack of confidence has holding me back.  Maybe not seeing how fast I was going helped.  I REALLY needed  to see I could do this in a workout, so I was okay that it was WAY faster than my MP goal.  It felt GOOD! 

Trial 3:  7:02, 6:58

We started out this one and Brendan warned me a half mile into it that we were going a little too fast (6:30 pace).  Good thing I also have a smart husband.  He knew this was too fast for the type of speed workout we were doing.  No point in going all out and falling completely off the pace or injuring myself.

What started out as “just something fun for a few extra miles” has suddenly helped increase my confidence.  These paces are easy for Brendan, so he gives me lots of encouraging words throughout the workout.  I don’t want to let him down or myself!  Now we are talking about focusing more on my goal and increasing the distance together.  Oh, and probably keep working on that confidence thing too.  Have I mentioned how lucky I am?  

“For when I am weak, then I am strong” 2 Corinthians 12:10

How powerful!

Mile Twenty Eight fits us perfect!

Funny side note…when we got home from this last workout, September had this to say:

      We must not have smelled nice after running. 🙂

Also, Brendan must have been proud of his newly (mostly) confident wife because he insisted we go on a date night.  Yay!  Ice cream was involved as well.

  • First, any tips for a 3:30 marathon? 🙂
  • Second, how do YOU ignore those negative thoughts and find your strong?
10 thoughts on ““For when I am weak, then I am strong”

  1. I am still just a running beginner, so I get SO many negative thoughts while trying to reach my goal for the day. What keeps me going is my wonderful sister… YOU! I think about various things you’ve said or tips you’ve given me and I am encouraged to keep going. When I can hear your voice it’s like having you right there with me!

  2. I’m not a marathoner (yet!) and I don’t know that I will be 🙂 But I am training for my first half in the fall. I help rid myself of negative thoughts by remembering that I’m the only one my runs matter to. It doesn’t matter who I beat or don’t, it’s just a matter of how I feel about it. And my verse that can be found on my RoadId is “but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

  3. When I think of finding my strong I think of Santa Clause – the movie with Tim Alan. Ok, you can laugh 🙂 but I think of the saying, “Believing is seeing”. I also think that the mind-body connection is stronger than we realize and until we truly and deeply believe we are capable of something (running a sub 3:30 marathon) we won’t see the results we are aiming for. Believing truly is seeing! And just so you know, I believe in you, Jenelle and I think you are well on your way to believing in yourself and seeing a BQ! You can do it!!

  4. I lost a lot of speed while training for a recent 1/2 marathon – thanks for the post giving me more motivation to get back in the game!

  5. I am cycling across Canada right now, and I am in no way an experienced cyclist; however, I stay strong by remembering being negative is never going to help me and throwing a smile on is how I switch my mood.

    It is pretty hard to be mad when you are smiling and Ifind it helps me stay positive!

    Give it a try and let me know how it works for you

  6. I wish I had 3:30 marathon tips! But I can only give you 3:50 marathon tips 😉

    I don’t know that I necessarily ignore negative thoughts but when I am feeling bad in a race or run I remind myself that it will pass and I just need to keep on going. Soon enough I feel better. I also make a temporary “tattoo” on my hand for big races: I write with a sharpie pen on my left hand a word or scripture (example, for your verse above it would be 2C1210) as a motivator.

Leave a Reply

