“I Want to Ride my Bicycle”

I finally got out my road bike for a ride.  Better late than never, right?

Well, the real reason to get it out was to ride along while Brendan did his long run.  I was going with him to keep him company AND to supply the water.  We ended up running/riding 13.4 miles.  No, I didn’t cheat, I did my run earlier!

I got some great photos from my phone that I thought was approaching it’s final days.

[Last week, I made the mistake of trying to run with my phone (for music purposes).  I never run with music, so I tried it as “something different” and of course it was the hottest day of the year (in my mind) and I sweat through the armband and got my phone’s battery wet.  Oops.  I spent a lot of time talking about how I would be losing my unlimited data plan (sigh) by having to upgrade my phone.  Apparently this talk inspired my phone to make a come back.  It works completely fine now!]

If I had waited about 4 seconds, this would have been the prettiest picture.  However, as you can see, I was losing Brendan as it was, so I had to put the camera away.

Anyway, besides using it to take a few awesome pictures, my phone spent most of the bike ride in a back pocket in a plastic bag (away from my sweat!)

We made a few water/stretching stops along the way.  I also sang some great songs to Brendan while he was running.  He loved it.

The only way I can pace Brendan for long runs, or ANY runs, is to ride my bike next to him.  Although, one of my students claims that one day I’ll, “run faster and catch Mr. Glover.”

  • Do you and your significant other train together?
  • If so, what ways do you train together?
  • Who sings the lyrics from this post’s title? 🙂
3 thoughts on ““I Want to Ride my Bicycle”

  1. Oh I sang the lyrics! 🙂 good job.
    My husband and I run together briefly. Until I can’t breathe and then I slow down and we meet up again later. Although a couple weeks ago we ran together for half my run (at my pace!) While he pushed the little guy in the stroller. It was quite fun! I’m dreaming of a time when I can keep up with my husband on his ‘easy’ runs during a hard workout. Lol.

Leave a Reply

