Track Workout Heroes

I woke up this morning around 5:14 and went for a short run.  My legs felt awful!  They were so tired and heavy feeling.  About the only thing that kept me going was seeing others runners out running and I didn’t want them to see me walking.  Most people could get away with “being out for a morning walk,” but I was sweaty a half mile into it.  They would know!

I decided my legs were heavy from running a double yesterday and one of the runs was a marathon paced workout with Brendan…but ended being faster than marathon pace.  I just needed more rest, couldn’t the others runners this morning understand that?! 🙂

If I needed more rest, then rest I would get!  I ended up taking a 3 hour nap today after work.  Wow, that felt amazing!  After waking from the nap it was time to head to the track.

I haven’t done a ton of track workouts lately due to focusing more on longer speed intervals/repeats on the road.  I wasn’t sure how this would go…

The workout:  400, 600, 800, 1000, 800, 600, 400, plus mile warm-up and mile cool-down

Ends up, I was running with some pretty inspiring people tonight!  I’ve run with all of these people before, so of course I already knew how talented they were, but while running we chatted about everyone’s recent training and races.

Just among the women at the workout:  one finished her second HALF IRONMAN on Sunday AND was still running this workout!   Another did a track workout the day before (in some intense heat), and a third has been busy training for a marathon.  Their intense training and racing doesn’t stop there, but just hearing some of their achievements was impressive enough to know I had zero excuses that could get me out of this workout.  All I kept thinking was that I was running with track workout heroes!

My legs must have appreciated the 3 hour nap because they felt much better during this evening’s workout.  It also felt good to run with friends and hear about what awesome athletes they all are!  I’m so proud of everyone in this group!

Post workout with my speedy friends

The guys relaxing post workout

After I left the workout, I shared with Brendan my random thought of the day.

“I spend a lot of my time these days being sweaty.”  Not a bad thing though, right? Must mean I’ve been working hard…

  • Do you run with inspiring people?

4 thoughts on “Track Workout Heroes

  1. Of course I run with inspiring people, you are among them, I got out for a two mile run last night at 7:30, and this woman who in my opinion shouldnt have been able to pass me, passed me. I wanted to yell don’t you see my rash all over my face, can’t you see that the sweat and heat is making it worst. It was a very sad for me, I had wanted to run 4 but after that I let the doubt and pain of the itching drive me back home. The only thing that kept my spirits up was that I ran those 2 miles in under 20 minutes. Must be all my fast friends inspiring me.

  2. I mostly run alone and my garmin is my inspirational “person”. Yesterday I got to run with a former WNBA player so that was cool. Since she’s not technically a runner, I kicked her booty, even pushing the jog stroller! HA! Now put us on the basketball court together and it would be a whole other story…

Leave a Reply

