Vega Energizing Smoothies: Review & Giveaway

Recently, Vega sent me samples of their Energizing Smoothies.  I have talked a lot about using a good recovery drink after my workouts…and this is it!

Directly from their website, Vega shares that their smoothies “were formulated by Brendan Brazier, vegan professional Ironman triathlete and bestselling health author on plant-based nutrition, Vega Energizing Smoothie is alkaline-forming, free from dairy, gluten and soy, and contains no added sugar, artificial flavors, colors or sweeteners”

A little side note for you…if you haven’t read Brendan Brazier’s book: Thrive, you need to!  It’s definitely worth checking out.

Some of the sample packs I was sent

The flavors they sent included:  Choc-a-lot, Bodacious Berry, Tropical Tango, Vanilla Almondilla, and Oh Natural (not pictured)

What I love about these smoothies is that they are so easy to make.  You just add water, shake, and that’s it.  No blender needed!  You can always add in other ingredients such as almond milk, juice, or fruit if you prefer.  The smoothies are available in the single serve packets (pictured) or in resealable packages.  I have used both because after using up this sample I ordered tons more!

Are you wondering what’s in these smoothies?

One serving of Vega Energizing Smoothie features:

Two servings of veggies

10 g of complete, plant-based protein

5 g of fiber

1 g of Omega-3

Now, everything sounds great so far, but how do they taste?

I’ll start by saying that my favorite flavor is the Vanilla Almondilla.  I also really enjoyed the Oh Natural flavor.  As expected, the Oh Natural flavor is pretty plain, but if you are like me and enjoy simple, plain flavors, you would probably like it.  Right up there with these two flavors for me is the Choc-a-lot flavor.  My friend, who also enjoys Vega products, and I both agreed that you can’t drink this flavor expect it to taste like chocolate milk.  It’s doesn’t.  However, it is very tasty.  I didn’t care as much for the Tropical Tango or Bodacious Berry flavors.  This is not to say they were bad, I just prefered the other three flavors more.  This actually surprised me because usually I like fruit flavored smoothies.  On the other hand, I have heard from a lot of people that they really like the fruit flavors more than the flavors I like.  It’s just a matter of preference.

Inside the sample packet

I liked to mix the smoothies up by pouring the packets and water into a water bottle.  That way, it’s easy to shake up and then immediately drink.  The smoothies can taste a little gritty, so I like to keep it in the water bottle and frequently shake it throughout the time I am drinking it.  This keeps it tasting a little better without any clumps and grittiness.  Since these smoothies are plant-based nutrition, the color might throw some as well.  The Vanilla Almondilla and the Oh Natural both have a greenish tint to them.  The others definitely have earth-tone qualities about their colors.  If this bothers you, the water bottle (you can’t see through) can further help you out by disguising the color.

Enjoying the Bodacious Berry flavor after my run

I couldn’t possibly keep all of this smoothie goodness to myself!  Want to try some?  There will be three winners for this giveaway because I have three sample packets of the Vanilla Almondilla to share!

THE GIVEAWAY!

1.  Leave a comment about which flavor you would like to try.

2.  Follow me on Instagram:  @miletwentyeight

3.  Share this giveaway on Twitter or Facebook:  “Enter to win @VegaTeam Energizing Smoothie Packets at http://www.miletwentyeight.com”

**Each is worth an entry.  Please leave a separate comment for each entry you complete!**

The giveaway will close at 10am EST on 08/25/12. The winners will be chosen at random from all entries and I will announce them via blog post.  I will attempt to contact you if you leave your email, twitter handle, or facebook info. You will have 48 hours to contact me to claim your prize, otherwise a backup winner will be chosen. US residents only. Good luck everyone!

Disclaimer: I was not paid for this review/giveaway. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I was sent the Vega sample packets free of charge.

Want more information on Vega products?  Visit their Website

Vega on Twitter

Vega on Facebook

49 thoughts on “Vega Energizing Smoothies: Review & Giveaway

  1. And I also shared your Time to Sperr post which made it really easy to tell people about two things I love – the race and mile twentyeight!

Leave a Reply

