Review: PRO Compression Socks

Recently, the nice folks over at PRO Compression sent me a couple pairs of compression socks to review.

Directly from their website:  WHY PRO Compression?

The USA Marathon sock

PRO Compression socks are made using a blend of high-performance materials including polypropylene and nylon.  The company found that “this blend delivered maximum comfort as well as the proper moisture control and durability”.

I was sent two pairs of the marathon sock.  One small and one extra small.  My foot fell into the range of the sizes small or extra small.  The size small felt good.  The extra small had a little more tightness to the overall feel, as expected.

Marathon sock

Here is PRO Compression’s description of the marathon sock:

“Experience maximum benefit with the Marathon full-length, graduated compression sock. Compression technology helps improve blood flow, resulting in better, more consistent performance with less fatigue and faster, more efficient recovery. In addition to improving vascular performance, Marathon compression socks provide support to critical muscles and tendons, helping reduce inflammation and soreness”.

mmHg 22-26 (unit of pressure measurement)

This is the sizing chart PRO Compression uses for the marathon sock:

size-chart-2012-website.jpg

Sizing cahrt from their website

This compression sock comes in a variety of colors including:  Black, Pink, Neon Yellow, Red White, and Lime.  It is also available in a black/grey calf sleeve.

I decided to first try the marathon sock (size small) on a run.  Compression socks can be tough to put on and take off (because they are so tight)  I felt like this brand was not as difficult as come to get on and fairly easy to take off as well.  Despite being easy to put on/take off, the socks still felt tight enough to support my legs.

Taking them out for a run

Right away I noticed that the socks fit me perfectly.  I didn’t need to fold them over at the top (like I have had to do with other compression socks).  When I have folded other brands’ compression socks over, it feels like my circulation is being cut-off.  I was very pleased that I didn’t have this problem with these socks.

side view

The socks felt tight and supported my calves and ankles, which have been sore lately.  They were a little warm for the weather, but overall I felt the socks kept my legs from fatiguing during the short run.  Being that the temps have been warm, I did not have an opportunity to wear the socks on a longer run.  I tend to overheat if I try to wear compression in warm weather.  I will definitely be trying them for a long run once it cools down more.

I enjoyed the socks on my run, but I enjoyed them for recovery even more!  I decided to wear them around my house and sleep in them.  My calves felt great the following day.

Black marathon sock

After trying many different brands of compression socks, I have become very picky with what I like.  I definitely prefer certain brands more than others.  PRO Compression is right up at the top with a few other brands that I really enjoy.  They provide a nice amount of compression and help with recovery.  I have tried other brands that feel more like stockings and are not that tight at all.  I like PRO Compression’s “tight sock feel.”

Overall, I would say if you are looking for some good quality, supportive compression socks that work and are also available in fun colors, be sure to check out PRO Compression.  I know I am looking into buying more pairs!

They are carry low trainer and golf socks and both pairs.  All of the socks appear comparably priced to other brands I’ve seen.

Want more PRO Compression?

Facebook

Twitter

Google +

You Tube

  • Will you try PRO Compression?  If so, what color?

More ways to get in touch with Mile Twenty Eight:

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/MileTwentyEight

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/miletwentyeight

Instagram:  @miletwentyeight

Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/miletwentyeight/

Disclaimer: I was not paid for this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I was sent the PRO Compression socks free of charge.

12 thoughts on “Review: PRO Compression Socks

Leave a Reply

