This Week’s Featured Runner #4

Ready to meet another great local runner?

{I have a great lineup of runners who are ready to share their stories, goals, training plans, favorites, and much more.  I hope to introduce you to one of them each week.  If you are interested in becoming a featured runner, I would love to hear from you.  Email me:  jcglover27@gmail.com}

This week I am featuring Amy, who blogs over at Rambles of a Running Mother. She also lives in the same area as me.  Amy has been running since a very early age and has a lot of racing experience.  She shares a lot of her favorite snacks and gear (some cool/interesting running shoes), as well as how she has dealt with injury. She also offers some great input about what she thinks has helped her improve as a runner.

Meet Amy!

Hi Mile Twenty Eight Readers! Thanks Jenelle for sharing my story!  My name is Amy and I love to run!  Running has been part of my life for as long as I can remember!  I ran my first 5k when I was 8 years old and haven’t stopped!  I ran cross-country and track in highschool and headed off to run for four more years at Moravian College.  I really learned a lot about myself and running while in college.  I had a great coach and made many great friends because of running.  Fast Forward 10+ years….I am now married with four kids.  Bryson (step-son) is 12 and is involved in youth hockey and lacrosse.  This year he made the travel team so I think we will be a little busier this year.  Garrison is 6 and starts first grade pretty soon.  Garrison will playing football in the fall.  Ally is 5 and starts Kindergarten this year.  Ally is a dancer and gymnast and loves to run!  Ally has me take her running when I get done with my runs.  My youngest is Carson and he is 4.  He will be going to school for the first time this year!  I also work full-time as a Special Education teacher.  I just finished my 10th year.  I have been coaching track in Elmira City School District for the last 5 years and coached 2 seasons of cross-country until I had to resign to spend more time with my kids.  This fall I am running the  Wineglass 1/2 Marathon, Runner’s World 1/2 marathon and the NYC marathon.  I try to get my runs in before work or before the kids get up or take a RUNch.  Time management is probably what I need to work on the most with my running.

Amy runs with her kids

What are your goals?  My ultimate goal is to qualify for the Boston Marathon.  I would like to run a marathon in all 50 states but being a mommy is something that has put this on the back burner.

What is your weekly mileage/mileage composition?  I am coming off of an injury and it has been a slow process to build my miles back up.  I have dealt the plantar fasciitis for about 8 months now.  It isn’t completely gone but I am able to deal with it now.  I am just starting to get back up to about 40 miles a week.  This marathon training plan that I am currently using (McMillian) has me peak at 60 miles a week.  I am hoping that my foot holds up!

What are some of your race day rituals OR pre race day rituals?  Pre- race rituals usually involve me laying everything the night before and pinning my bib on my shirt.  I also take a shower and shave my legs the night before.  Race day I make sure I am awake at least 2 hours before the start of the race.  I eat a plain bagel and  glass of water.  I do not shower race morning.

What is your favorite race? (race name/location/distance), favorite race distance, or a race on your bucket list? OR include all three!  The 1/2 marathon is my favorite distance but I also like the 10 mile race distance.  My favorite 1/2 marathon has been the Shamrock 1/2 marathon. I love the course and finishing on the beach is pretty cool. My most favorite race has been the Cherry Blossom 10 miler.  It takes place in D.C.  I love the course and the beautiful cherry blossom trees.  My bucket list races are Big Sur, Chicago (planning to run in fall of 2013), Boston, and I would love to do the Hood to Coast Relay!

Amy and her mom post race

What changes have you made that have most helped you to improve as a runner?  I was trying to run hard everyday to help me get faster but soon the opposite started happening.  Once I started taking my easy days easy and hard days hard I saw improvement.  It also helps to have someone to run with.

What are your favorite snacks, products, gear, recipes?  My favorite snacks include plain almonds, Picky Bars, any of the Cliff Bar Kid products, frozen yogurt and veggies/fruit.  As for products I love Cliff Coconut Chocolate  Chip, Nuun- especially fruit punch.  When I run I tend to go with Cliff Shot Blocks, or Honey Stinger Wafers. The gear that keeps me going is Hoka One One Bondi B (pronounced Ho-kay Oh-nay Oh-nay which means “Time to Fly” in Maori, “Bondi” is named after Bondi Beach , so the correct pronunciation is bond-eye) running sneakers.  They aren’t pretty but I have found their excess cushioning helps me run pain free with my plantar fasciitis. I also have the Inferno heat wrap and an ultra sound machine for my foot.  Other gear that I use is the Garmin 405 and I am excited for Bia sports watch to come out in April.   I am a huge Bic Bands fan!  I have so many and always have one in my hair!  They really keep my hair out of my face and stay put!  I have one to match all my running clothes.  I love Nike Tempo shorts and probably have too many pairs.  I have recently discovered Lululemon….if only I had more money.

What is your biggest accomplishment running-wise?  I think my proudest running moment took place forever ago.  It was my last college conference meet.  I had a goal to break 40:00 in the 10k and 19:00 in the 5k for four years.  I brought it down to the wire and I had to run the 10k on Friday and the 5k on Saturday.  I ended up having the best two races of my life and ran 39:01 and 18:48.

What is your favorite activity you use to supplement your running?  To supplement I have started doing core
more regularly or I might aqua jog.

How do you get through a tough run?  To get through tough runs I often remind myself of what my goals are or try to think of others who can’t run.  I try to keep it in perspective that it is one run and I just have to finish.  I usually tell myself one more mile and I can walk back and by time I get to that mile I can convince myself to do another.

How about a random fact about yourself?  Random fact… I love pens…I have kazillion different pens and don’t think that I could have too many!

Amy also help co-create the Lady Warriors Running Group.  The group’s facebook page can be  found HERE

Thanks Amy!  Good luck with all of your  upcoming training and racing.  You have me interested in signing up for all of your favorite races now 🙂 I’m also interested in hearing a review on your Hoka Hoka One One Bondi B running sneaks.  They sound really interesting!  If you want to hear more from Amy:

Social Media:

Check out Amy’s blog:  Rambles of a Running Mother

Follow her on Twitter:  @amyruns810

  • Any questions or comments for Amy?
  • Have you run The Cherry Blossom 10 miler or the Shamrock 1/2 Marathon?
  • Have you run in Hoka Hoka One One Bondi B’s?
6 thoughts on “This Week’s Featured Runner #4

Leave a Reply

