Gear Review & Giveaway: Road ID

I was recently given an opportunity to personalize and try out a Road ID.  What is a Road ID?

According to their website:  “If you are a runner, cyclist, triathlete or just a person who doesn’t sit on the couch all day, Road ID is for you. This awesome piece of gear not only looks good but it could save your life. In the event of an accident, if you can’t speak for yourself, your Road ID will. Available in 6 different styles. It’s not just a piece of gear – it’s peace of mind.”

The Wrist ID Elite, my info is edited out in this picture

As their website stated, Road ID is available in a variety of styles.  The one that I have been using is the Wrist ID Elite (pictured above).  This is a silicone band with a watch-style buckle (latex free).  The band comes with a laser engraved ID tag, containing six customizable lines for you to personalize.  The tag is also available in the original version or the interactive.  With the original, you are able to personalize all of the text.  With the interactive version, you personalize some of the information and the rest you can securely update on a database through an operator or web access.  Emergency responders can access your information/allergies/medical conditions by calling a number.  Road ID thought of everything!

I chose the silicone style band because I sweat a lot and I figured with a silicone band I wouldn’t have to wash it after a long run.  However, I later found out that Road ID’s website they states that all Road IDs are fresh and salt water safe!  I’m still pleased with the style I chose for it’s durable feel.

The Wrist ID Elite is available in eight colors.  I chose blue, rather than my typical choice of black so that it could stand out and be spotted in an emergency.  My next color choice would have been orange!

One thing I really liked about the Wrist ID Elite is that it’s fully adjustable, so one size fits all!

Changing the size is easy.

It was easy to try on and cut to make it fit just right.  No worries, Road ID provides you with a simple set of directions of how to adjust the size of your band.  I recommend playing around with the sizing.  I noticed with this style that it did bounce around a little bit when I first started running.  However, once I got going, the ID bracelet stayed in place, probably due to my body heating up.  It made me glad that I left a little space when sizing it, rather than cutting it and making it fit perfectly tight before running in it.

Directions

Road ID makes ordering and personalizing the tags easy is by walking you through a step-by-step process to help you build your Road ID.  They provide examples of what type of information you might want to add to your ID, such as:  name, year you were born, emergency contact information, allergies, medical conditions.  If you have enough space, Road ID even offers the idea to use a line for a personal mantra or meaningful quote.  I went with “Mile Twenty Eight,” on mine of course.

The more I wore this product, the more I realized how important it can be for athletes who spend a lot of time out on the road.  I am currently training for a marathon, so I spend a lot of time out on the road alone.  Using the Road ID is such a simple and easy way to carry my information and emergency contacts without the added bulk.

Ready for a run!

The Wrist ID Elite is very lightweight.  The band alone weighs 0.85 ounces.  The ID tag weighs in around 0.234 ounces.  For a size comparison I took a picture of the Road ID next to my Garmin.  In this picture you are also able to see the watch style buckle of the Road ID.

Size comparison

I am fortunate to be able to say I have not been in a situation where I have needed to use the Road ID.  However, I like having the peace of mind knowing that if something ever did happen, the ID can speak for me.  I highly recommend the Wrist ID Elite or any of the other great products from Road ID for anyone who spends time out on the road or in the water.  Another added bonus that made me really like Road ID is that when you check out they donate a portion of every order to one of ten charities which YOU get to choose.

Road ID is a great company that made ordering a Road ID simple and easy.  The quality of their products and customer service is very evident.

 Check out more great products from Road ID on their website:  http://www.roadid.com/Common/Default.aspx

Road ID:  Twitter

Road ID:  Facebook

Road ID is kindly offering a Road ID eCard ($35 value) for one lucky Mile Twenty Reader.  This card can be used to purchase products, such as the wonderful Wrist ID Elite, or many other great products from the Road ID website.

To Enter:

1.  Leave a comment after visiting their website about which style ID you would like to try and what color.

2.  Follow Road ID on Twitter

3.  Like Road ID on Facebook

4.  Follow @miletwentyeight on Instagram

5.  Tweet about this giveaway OR share it on Facebook.

**Each is worth an entry.  Please leave a separate comment for each entry you complete!**

The giveaway will close at 8am EST on 09/19/12. The winner will be chosen at random from all entries and I will announce the who the winner is via blog post.  I will attempt to contact you if you leave your email, twitter handle, or facebook info. You will have 48 hours to contact me to claim your prize, otherwise a backup winner will be chosen. US residents only. Good luck everyone!

Disclaimer: I was not paid for this review/giveaway. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I was sent the Road ID: Wrist ID Elite free of charge.

45 thoughts on “Gear Review & Giveaway: Road ID

  1. Pingback: FRIDAY RANDOMNESS |

  2. I’m not entering the contest, just wanted to say I have the ankle ID (in pink, of course). I love that all my info is there if needed and I don’t ever go running without my Road ID!!

  3. Personally I would go for the wrist ID slim, but I think I would be more likely to spring for one for my husband so I wouldn’t have to worry everytime he decides to run 5 extra miles in the hills…and he’d probably get the sport. Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. I have a Road ID, so I don’t need to enter. I just want to say I love mine. I wear it whenever I’m cycling or running and it gives me a feeling of security. I’ve been using it for several years now. I first got mine after being on a bike ride with a large group of cyclists, many of whom just knew each other by first name. One guy crashed, we had to have an ambulance, but nobody knew his last name or his phone number or anything. Fortunately, he had a wallet on him, so the paramedics were able to contact his wife, but it really hit home.

  5. Pingback: I Have a Winner! Road ID « Mile Twenty Eight

Leave a Reply

