One Week to Go…

A week from today I will running my 3rd marathon.  It’s crazy to think that all of the marathons I have done will all been completed within the past 12 months.  Not sure if I recommend others to try this…it’s a LOT of running.

The Wineglass Marathon, in my hometown, was my first marathon.  Nothing better than a mostly flat course and lots of familiar faces to cheer you on!

Wineglass Marathon Expo

My first marathon training experience went great up until some tendonitis in my foot/ankle sidelined me for 2 weeks a month or so before the marathon.  Once it was better and I could run again, I felt like I was playing catch-up to get back my fitness.

I was nervous to try the marathon distance despite losing some valuable training time, but after all of those miles I put in, I was determined to at least give it a try.  My goal time was originally 3:40 (the Boston qualifying time for women my age last year).  I knew because of my injury, I should be more realistic and accept just finishing as a goal (but secretly hoping I could at least be under 4 hours).

Rainy first marathon

At the 13.1 mile mark, I looked down a my watch and was at 1:50 for my time.  Not bad for a first time marathoner.  However, I was starting to get stabbing pains in my right knee, then my left knee!  It hurt SO bad that I had to stop and walk it out.  The pain would subside for a little while, but if I started moving a decent pace again, the stabbing pain came back.  It haunts me to this day as I watched the time tick by on my Garmin.  I knew I wasn’t going to get 3:40.  I did end up finishing…in 3:56.  I met two goals that day:  I finished my first marathon AND I was under 4 hours.  It wasn’t easy.

Brendan and I at the finish. He came in 3rd overall and won money and a huge bottle of champagne!

My second marathon was a disaster.  I didn’t like talking about it right after the race and I still don’t to this day.  We’ll just say I finished and immediately wanted revenge on the distance.  This is why I signed up for my 3rd marathon.

So here I am…one week away.  It’s amazing when I think how much training and hard work you can put into getting ready for a marathon (1 race) and then it’s over.  It’s not like a 5k where you can recover quickly and run another one within a week or two if it doesn’t go well.  It’s a long term training commitment and recovery process with results that are never guaranteed…as I have learned in the past.

This marathon’s training has gone pretty well.  I have followed a less strict plan this time around, by using key workouts from my previous experiences, but cutting back a little with my overall weekly mileage.  I was able to get in a couple 20 milers in addition to other successful long runs.  Unfortunately, I did have the same foot/ankle tendonitis issue happen this August, but I think for the most part it is cleared up.

I’m ready to enjoy my taper week.  There’s just one thing left to plan…what shoes to wear.  I have been wear testing for a particular company and really enjoyed a specific model.  One problem, I had to return the shoes and they are not available for sale yet.  I am currently wear testing another pair, but not sure if they are the right type for the marathon.  I also have a selection of my own shoes to wear.  I would LOVE to wear my Saucony A5s, but I don’t think they will offer enough support for the marathon distance.  Right now I’m thinking I will go with my Saucony Kinvara 3 shoes.  I wore them in my last marathon and didn’t have any problems with them.  Ah, decisions!

More to come on final pre marathon thoughts…including my goal.

I can’t forget to mention…we met Dick Beardsley last year at the Wineglass Marathon.  This year Joan Benoit Samuelson will be here.  How amazing is that?!

  • Are you getting ready for a Fall Marathon?
  • What is your goal?
  • What shoes will you be wearing?
19 thoughts on “One Week to Go…

  1. I hope your last week prepping for the race goes well! The anticipation before races for me is SO great that I have problems sleeping- not the best for going into a race:) I also hope you’re able to get revenge from last year!

  2. Good luck next week! The third time’s a charm! 🙂
    I am planning to run Bucks County Marathon third week in Nov. I’ve never done this one before, but its small, flat and about an hour from home. Will either wear my Brooks Ravennas or Asics 2170s. I need a more supportive shoe. I love the Brooks but every important long race I’ve ever done (BQing, Boston, ultra) have been in an Asics 21xx so my superstition will probably make me pick those!

  3. Good luck girl!! You are going to kill it this year! I am excited for you! 3 marathons in 12 months is insane! But soooo impressive! I will also be running a marathon next Sunday up in NH, so I will be thinking of you! Enjoy your taper week…I know I will be too! 😉

  4. Enjoy this last week!

    My husband and I are also running Wineglass, it will be our first marathon. I am hoping to just finish and under 5 hours (really I would like 4:30 but with it being my first as long as I finish I will be happy).

    I will be wearing My Saucony Mirage 2s.

  5. Woohoo girl! You’re gonna do so great on your 3rd marathon! I am training for the Disney marathon…it will be my second. The goal is to finish and have fun…I’m not worried about the time. I will be wearing my Asics…LOVE those shoes!!!

  6. Jenelle- you’re going to rock this marathon! I also ran 3 in 12 months (Wineglass 09, Boston 10, and Wineglass 10) and yes it is a lot of running. But I definitely had a good base for the 2nd and 3rd ones!
    Third time is the charm! I’ll be excited to hear how it goes next week!!!
    Run strong and have fun 🙂

  7. No marathons planned here. I just live vicariously on the race reports of others. Good luck, you’re going to kick this marathon in the butt!

    I think you’d be smart to stick with the shoes you know. Seriously, you don’t want to find out at mile 20 that you made the wrong choice.

  8. So exciting! And it fills me with confidence that you kept going back for more :-). Good luck – I’m looking forward to seeing how you go. I think you know what my next race is! Thanks so much for your advice 🙂

  9. Wow. You are so fast! Good luck on the run and the BQ. I have so many bloggy buddies racing next weekend.
    My next marathon will be my 2nd since I had to defer MCM. I got hurt on my first and finished over 5 hours (Yikes!) so my goal for #2, when I am healthy, is sub4:30.

  10. No Fall marathon for me, but I really want to run one next year!! How far apart were each of your marathons and how did you handle recovery?? You’re awesome- Good luck next week!! Hope you get a BQ 🙂

  11. Good luck jenelle! I am sure you’ll do great and the weather was horrendous for your second! I was so sick after that 1/2! I did 3 marathons in 2010! It is a lot of time comment but the end result will be worth it!!!

  12. I’m catching up on your blog…we have such similar goals! My husband and I were in Ithaca for 6 years and toward the end I wanted to do a marathon and considered Wineglass… first try I got injured and never ran it, second time I did the Poconos Marathon (PA) and also wanted a 3:40 but missed it by a few minutes. Now a whole year later I think I’m ready for another and am looking at Houston’s in January. But I definitely understand your thoughts on sticking to shorter distances for awhile. It’s such a huge commitment!

Leave a Reply

