Question of the Week: Race Distances

{I decided that it would be fun and interesting to have a “Question of the Week.”  I will follow this up with another post consisting of the answers that I compile from everyone.  If you would like to contribute a question to use, I would love to give you the credit for it and shout out to your blog/twitter/facebook/etc.  E-mail me with question of the week ideas:  jcglover27@gmail.com}  

I also hope to have the question relate to an upcoming blog post that could be a giveaway, a review, or a completely random thought.

This week’s topic is:  Race Distances

The final stretch of my third marathon

This past weekend I ran a marathon.  (I’m working on a race report!)  Now that I have another marathon under my belt, I’m ready to switch things up a little and work on some shorter distances.  I’m not saying I’ll never run another marathon…just taking the Spring off from it.  Anyway, this all has me thinking…

What is your favorite race distance?

I’m looking forward to hearing your responses!  Please leave your responses in the comment section and I’ll post the responses in two days.

24 thoughts on “Question of the Week: Race Distances

  1. Since I’m new to running I haven’t done most of the different distances more than once so my favorite might change in the future as I get some more races under my belt =) so far I’ve liked the 10K and the half marathon. Now to get my knees on the same page!

  2. I really, really enjoy the 10k races – just enough to get me past the warm-up stage, and not a lot of recovery time – it’s hard to do longer distance and then try to rest w/ a 5 year old & 3 year old wanting to play!

  3. I’d say 5k or 5 miler because it isn’t intense training but you can continue to improve. Trails are my favorite for maybe even 10k.

  4. Marathon or half marathon for different reasons. I love the training and pushing myself at these distances. I would rather run a marathon then a 5K any day!

  5. The 10km – it’s nasty, brutish and short (nod to Leviathan there…) it’s hard work, but it’s over soonish, with enough time to really think about what’s happening and change it up.

  6. I think the half marathon is perfect! It’s a challenge but not so far that you need to train for months on end!!! And for miles in general, 12 seems to be a great number for me that I manage at least 1x a week throughout the year!

Leave a Reply

