This Week’s Featured Runner #8

I love hearing about how someone got their start in running!  This week’s featured runner shares her background about how she ended up where she is today with running, and some unique pre race rituals to go with.  She also has a great intro, so I’ll let her take it away…

{I have a great lineup of runners who are ready to share their stories, goals, training plans, favorites, and much more.  I hope to introduce you to one of them each week.  If you are interested in becoming a featured runner, I would love to hear from you.  Email me:  jcglover27@gmail.com}

Meet Allison!

Allison (in the middle) and her two friends

Introduction:    Allison Roblyer, 39 , married to Andy Roblyer for twenty years this November.  Three kids Lindsay 17, Alex 15, and Olivia 12.  I have two cats and a beloved dog that I would put in a crib and feed in a highchair if I thought I could get away with it.  For the last twelve years I have worked in the pharmaceutical industry as a sales representative.

I will tell you the story of how I got here.  No, not starting with my birth, I mean how I got to post on Jenelle’s running blog!  My husband was a talented high school and college runner.  Later he coached cross-country and track at the high school and college level.  Running was a very central part of his life.  I grew up as a gymnast, dancer, and cheerleader.  Go ME!  I was strong, flexible, and small so I had a natural propensity for those activities.  That’s where I could shine.  However, after my first child was born I looked around and realized there were no adult cheerleading teams that I could work out with to get back into shape.  I wanted to be skinny again.  It was this point that Andy recommended I get a pair of running shoes.

The first time I went out there I couldn’t believe how easy and enjoyable it was.  JUST KIDDING!!!  I made it 4 minutes before exclaiming “Sweet Mother of God someone bring a car and pick me up!”   I didn’t understand.  The runners Andy coached made it look so easy.  I thought if you could do a back flip and a full split you were kinda awesome but this cardio athlete thing, this was a mystery.  It took me awhile to be able to run thirty minutes without stopping.  My first goal was to run the 3 mile Elmira-Thon in 30 minutes.  It didn’t seem possible.  I struggled, I mean I really struggled.  Most days I would run a mile as fast as I could then catch my breath and run back. There were days that running seemed so tough I just sucked my thumb in a fetal position.   Eventually Andy told me to do some 200’s at the track and my first 5k I ran in 25:38.  I completed that Elmira-thon in 24:22 and eventually had a 5k PR of 22:54, mile PR of 6:41 , and I never did any distance longer than that.  I was pregnant when I ran those PR’s but I did not know it.  Funny thing, that is the only kid interested in running.  The girls are dancers and the youngest is an acrobat.  After my son was born I tried to run again but I was too tired and when I couldn’t jump back into running what I considered “fast enough” I gave up.

SO! I said all of that to tell you this.  I came back to running because of my job.  That’s right!  I see many sick people in waiting rooms. I learned of disease states like Gastro-Esophageal Reflux Disease, Coronary Artery Disease, Stroke, Type 2 Diabetes, Depression, Anxiety, Chronic Pain, you name it  I have probably sold a product for it.  Exercise and maintaining a healthy weight is almost always a way to prevent these anomalies. I no longer had to worry about being fast enough or good enough, I was going to do my part in preventing  illness brought on by obesity and save myself a crap-load of money in co-pays. I signed up for the Wineglass full marathon in 2007 and started a new running chapter in my life.  Fast runners are always admired but I have a deep respect for the heavy, back of the pack person who is courageously taking control of their life with no chance for a medal.

What are your goals?  Keep running!   Stop being a perfectionist and just accept the runner that I am!!! I am slower  now  for a 5k but  I have attempted 10k’s, half marathons, and I am currently training for my third full marathon.   I have run 25:30 for a 5k but would like to break 25.  I’ve also ran a 2:00:14 half so breaking  2  hours would be cool.  I won’t lie, I would love to be faster but even when I’m not improving, I am enjoying running.

What is your weekly mileage/mileage composition? Currently I am in marathon training so my mileage is up in the 40’s but I include drop back weeks so I can recover and have energy to clean my house.  I have been through phases of training such as reps, intervals, tempo, and long runs.  Andy ran for Jack Daniels PhD at Cortland College so most of the stuff I do falls along those lines.  I could probably improve with more workouts but when life gets crazy I try to just run.

What are some of your race day rituals OR pre race day rituals?  I look in the mirror and say “You’re good enough, you’re smart enough, and dog-gone it people like you!”  No, I don’t do that.  The night before, I try to eat a lot of calories for long distance races.  I usually have a glass of wine because I want to.  In the morning I have an internal argument why racing is stupid and sleeping is better and then I get in the car.  Not too early to give the Impression that I care too deeply, but just enough time to register and warm-up.  I put lipstick on before races because I like it…

What is your favorite race? I don’t have a favorite race!  I think I enjoy training more than racing.  I guess I like 10k’s and half marathons and any race where I can get dirty and they will take my picture.  Seneca 7 was fabulous, not so much the course but the girls in the van…..

What changes have you made that have most helped you to improve as a runner?  I tried singing with a hairbrush in my mirror, that didn’t improve my times.  Speedwork is my friend and probably needs to be more of a friend.

What are your favorite snacks, products, gear, recipes?  Snacks-  I try to eat more protein, I love to run with my running friends or my ipod music, not at the same time.  Love the newer light weight shoes.  Recipes?  Nope, I don’t do that….   

What is your biggest accomplishment running-wise?  I’m still running…I think I am the fastest runner from my old cheerleading team.

What is your favorite activity you use to supplement your running?  Napping?  Seriously stretching,  strengthening my hips with stretchy bands, I still do splits, and bridges because I can.

How do you get through a tough run?  It depends, if it is an easy run I slow down.  If it is a workout or race and I don’t feel good, I slow down.

How about a random fact about yourself?  I love my family with all my heart, my faith is God always brings me through, I’m a skilled painter and I am an awesome stripper, of wood.

Thanks Allison.  I love all of your energy and great personality!  Good luck with all of your upcoming races.

  • Any questions for Allison?
  • Do you have unique pre race rituals?

 

7 thoughts on “This Week’s Featured Runner #8

  1. Allison, you seriously made me laugh out loud reading this. You and Melinda have inspired Jess and me to run another marathon. Love you ladies!

Leave a Reply

