Question of the Week: Fueling Up!

{I decided that it would be fun and interesting to have a “Question of the Week.”  I will follow this up with another post consisting of the answers that I compile from everyone.  If you would like to contribute a question to use, I would love to give you the credit for it and shout out to your blog/twitter/facebook/etc.  E-mail me with question of the week ideas:  jcglover27@gmail.com}  

I also hope to have the question relate to an upcoming blog post that could be a giveaway, a review, or a completely random thought.

This week’s topic is:  Fueling Up!

Fueling option for a run

What type of fuel do you use during your runs or races, if any?

I’m looking forward to hearing your responses and sharing them with others!  Please leave your responses in the comment section and I’ll post the responses in two days.

24 thoughts on “Question of the Week: Fueling Up!

  1. great question, dear!!! i love fit mixer aminos!!! i love protein shakes too. i use first step pro wellness chocolate and vanilla. it’s sooo good!! have a super day! xxoo

  2. I used dried a couple dried apricots on one of my longer runs, but I usually stick to GU. It’s hard to pass up something that tastes like frosting.

  3. I use Hammer gels for any runs 10-16 miles; for longer distances I use Hammer Sustained Energy mixed with Hammer Fizz electrolytes. I use Hammer products because they have no simple sugars and tend to upset my stomach the least of any products I’ve tried.
    I also drink a protein drink daily–the brands vary. And I drink Nuun almost every day but especially the day before a long run.

  4. I am still sort of struggling with this but Clif Shot energy gels in mocha do work for me. I think that on longer runs I need to do something different because I have a hard time continuing to take them and keeping them down.

  5. I used use just Carb Boom or Gu but it was giving me serious crummy tummy so I started using shot bloks and have been fine ever since.

  6. I’m with Sarah- I try to avoid anything artificial. I use fuel on runs longer than 14 or 15 miles, and either raisins or occasionally Honey Stinger chews. Great question!

  7. I used to do this and it is fun!!! Let’s see this year for the first time ever, training for my 7th marathon I am now using things during my run. Right now just 1 or 2 GU’s, but in my water bottle I have vega sport which gives me good energy

  8. For the sake of your tally – Clif Shots (with my long-winded discussion to follow)

    As I look through the posts, I came to the realization that it looks like I’m the only male to chime in (hope that’s ok).
    So, being new (again) to running, especially in distances that exceed a 5k and those that require additinal effort (i.e. Obstacle Course Races), I was at a loss as to what to use, so I started asking around.
    The first I went with were GU gels. Not a fan of any flavor really, except Peanut Butter. And, my stomach didn’t seem to pleased by the concoction either.
    During my longest event, I used up my 2 GU Gels, and fortunately an “acquaintance” of mine had passed by, and during our discussion, he gave me the Clif Shot (in Chocolate) and I’m hooked.
    I will say that with a multiple hour endurance event, I would much rather consume something that I can actually eat though (Bloks, beans, something) I haven’t yet tried the waffle.
    Just seeing the dozen or so posts, there are definitely things I am going to try because, let’s face it, there’s always another event looming in the future.

    Thanks for your posts, btw.

  9. Though, I’m not a runner, I fuel up between WODs at CrossFit competitions with almonds, almond butter and a banana or peanut butter, dried fruit and walnuts.

    On another note, thanks for checking out my blog! I like your blog a lot and look forward to following it!

  10. I’m a fan of Gu Chomps, preferably the Cranberry-Apple, Strawberry or Peach Tea flavors. I’ve never liked the consistency or many of the flavors of gels. I’ve only had Clif Shot Bloks once or twice as samples at expos and because I like the Chomps I haven’t tried the Bloks on any runs.

  11. I use whatever the heck doesn’t upset my stomach at the time! 🙂
    Lately it’s either Honey Stinger waffles, Larabars, or Vitalyte Chia Surge gels and for hydration Vitalyte Hydration Formula. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog today! 🙂

  12. I love shot blocks, they seem to work the best for me. I’m trying to get into protein shakes after running as well.

Leave a Reply

