Back At It…

With the marathon complete, recovery week over, it’s time to get back to speed work!

At the track

This week’s speed workout: A Ladder

1.5 mile warm-up

400, 600, 800, 800, 600, 400

1 mile cool-down

Results:

(Don’t laugh, I haven’t run a true speed workout in a while!)

400: 1:34 (avg pace 6:19)

600: 2:38 (avg pace 7:05)

800: 3:34 (avg pace 7:03)

Back down the ladder:

800: 3:31 (avg pace 6:55)

600: 2:35 (avg pace 6:43)

400: 1:36 (avg pace 6:15)

Things to point out:  The average pace for my second 400 was faster, but overall time was slower because I clicked my Garmin lap button a little past the 800 distance marker.  Not everything is exact, but pretty close.  I was pleased to see the second half of the workout was a little faster than the first.

After learning to run “comfortably hard” for the marathon, speed work can be tricky to transition into for any runner.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, I’m ready for a little change of pace…literally.  It will hurt and I won’t be the fastest, but all I can do is run my best.

  • What’s your favorite speed workout?
  • Do you do your speed on the road, track, or both?

17 thoughts on “Back At It…

  1. Great work! No one would laugh at times like those!
    I do longer speed on the roads and shorter intervals on the track. In general, any speed repeats mile distance or longer are on the road/trails for me!

  2. I love me some speedwork! 400’s or a track ladder are probably my favorite, although with this injury I haven’t done any in too long. Very nice paces!

  3. How can I laugh, you kicked butt! My coach has me staying at 7:40 paced 800s for half training, it definitely helps but ive learned to be consistent and not over do it!

  4. Jenelle, Welcome back. My favorite treadmill speed workout is a mile warmup, then (60, 30, 90) times 8, which is run at a hard but comfortable speed for 60 seconds then balls to the wall sprint for 30 seconds followed by 90 seconds of a recovery run. You this this 8 times and end with a mile cool down. On the track I love 600 meter repeats. 🙂

  5. I just did a ladder last week.. I did it by time though 1 min, 2 min, 3 min, 4 min, 3 min… etc. It is nice because it mixes things up. Can’t say that 800s aren’t great though!

  6. Those are good splits! I like the idea of a “ladder” speed workout. I usually do speedwork on the track–lots of 400m and 200m repeats, and to change it up, I like to sprint the curves and jog the straightaways.

  7. To me your pace rocks!! I usually do my speed work on the treadmill unfortunately because I don’t have a track nearby. Stinks!

  8. Pingback: Fitness Friday « Mile Twenty Eight

Leave a Reply

