Fitness Friday

My first “Fitness Friday”

I you want to join in on the fun, click HERE to read all about it.

I love this quote describing Fitness Friday:  “It’s about sharing progress and successes. Not perfection.”

I certainly do not reach “perfection” in all of my workouts, but I do look for progress and success over time.  This sounds like a good fit for me!

I just came off a big training cycle, so I took the week after the marathon EASY.  This week’s workouts are my effort SLOWLY get back into the miles.  I don’t want to get injured, so I’m taking the easy and recovery part serious.  During my training over the summer, I had a few foot issues, so lower the mileage has really helped alleviate the aches and pains.

My workouts (including the tail end of my marathon recovery week):

Saturday:

3.08 miles-easy, with 4 strides

2:30 PlankADay, 25 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

Sunday:

2.08 miles, still enjoying recovery week-maybe a little too much 🙂

2:45 PlankADay, 35 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

Monday:

First day back at picking up the pace, marathon-paced miles is familiar and a nice place to start

Mile 1: 7:50, Mile 2: 8:03, Mile 3: 8:05

2 easy miles for a cool-down, 5.08 miles total

1:30 PlankADay, 25 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

…and I ate a lot of these, does that count for Fitness Friday? (Recipe HERE)

Skinny Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Tuesday:

5.08 miles-easy

1:45 PlankADay, 50 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

Wednesday:

Track Workout (recap post)

1:30 PlankADay, 25 push-ups, 50 sit-ups

Tried out some new shoes that Mizuno sent me!  I have to give them more time/miles, but so far, I really like them!

Wave Rider 15

Thursday:

4:08 miles-easy

This was my first run this season with pants AND a hat, BOO!

2:00 PlankADay, 50 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

Friday:

5.08 miles-easy to medium

1:30 PlankADay, 25 push-ups, 10 sit-ups

-felt a little rushed to get in today’s workout before work.  (I have my observation with my boss today, so I had to get back and get prepared)  I might add more later!

Major theme I am noting from this post…I don’t have a lot of variety in my workouts and I’m obsessed with the number 8!  I look forward to changing some areas of my workouts next week.

  • How were your workouts this week?

10 thoughts on “Fitness Friday

  1. I love the pattern of easing back into it (8 is my favourite number, so keep that up :-D)

    Great link up, and great workouts – you know ‘m going to be asking you sooo many questions about this next week 😉

  2. I’m impressed you can run so many days in a row post-marathon, sounds like your body is holding up well!

  3. This has been a great week, and glad you’re so conscious of how you should train each week, nice job! I do a SUnday linkup of workouts post you can join too 😉

  4. Pingback: Mexican Chicken Crockpot Recipe

Leave a Reply

