This Week’s Featured Runner #10

This week’s Featured Runner is a fellow #sweatpink and #fitfluential Ambassador!  She also blogs over at Sneakers and Fingerpaints.  Curious how she came up with the unique name for her blog?  I was too…

{“My blog name came from my two biggest passions: working out and being an artist (there’s more info in my story tab) I’ve been painting for a while now…needing to work on new pieces … But have been creative since I was a kid…fingerpainting. I had a bit of a weightloss journey that has me now in sneakers when I’m not working ;)”}

Love it!  

Meet Kat!

I’m a newlywed who’s just entered my 30’s and working on being as fit as I can! I love spending time with my husband and our pug, Jaeden, who just turned 11…senile dogs are hilarious. I enjoy running and also crossfit-circuit type of workouts. Being active is how I engage with others and enjoy life! I am also a freelance artist and love working out the right side of my brain too 🙂

Kat & her husband, adorable!

What made you start running? What keeps you running now?  I started running back in 2007 with some friends as a new challenge. I hung it up for a while and then it became a way for my [now] husband to spend time together.

What are some of your future running goals?  My most recent goal is to work towards racing my first 1/2 marathon (I’ve run 14 mi at my farthest but never raced it) and do 6 consecutively Nov-Mar. Next year – full Mary?
What does a week of training look like for you?  Sun – Recovery run (4+ mi), Monday – Xtrain with weights, pushups, etc. + running to w/u & c/d. Tuesday – Tempo run (5+ mi), Wednesday – Xtrain with weights, dips, burpees, etc. + running w/u & c/d, Thursday – speed work run, Friday – Active rest/Yoga , Saturday – LONG RUN day (10+ miles)
What are some of your race day rituals OR pre race day rituals?  I always wake up at least 2 hours before the race and follow the same routing as my run days – NO NEW IS GOOD NEW ON RACE DAY!
What is your favorite race? (race name/location/distance), favorite race distance, or a race on your bucket list? OR include all three!  My Favorite race to run is the Bolt Run 5k here in Tampa. It’s partnered with the Hockey team, the Lightning, and is always a good race with good swag and food 😉 I am excited to start half races though for more medals! (it’s the little things 😉 I’d love to do the Marine Corp Marathon, SF Nike Women’s Half/Full, and maybe NYC one day.
What changes have you made that have most helped you to improve as a runner?  Speed work has helped a lot but also caused some aches and pains. I feel that adding in mileage, not worrying about pace necessarily, helps build endurance and distance.
What are your favorite snacks, products, gear, recipes?  Snacks – Shot Blocks, Almonds, Milk Duds (once in a while!), Products – 2 Toms Blister Shield (miracle worker on the feet), Gear – Nike hats & skorts & my Brooks Pure Cadence sneaks, Recipes – Cauliflower pizza!
What have been some of your absolute favorite running moments?  My favorite race was the one where I learned the most – the Gasparilla 15k I ran this past March. I hurt and learned a lot but it’s the one I’ll never forget! http://sneakersandfingerpaints.blogspot.com/2012/06/my-day-of-reckoning.html
Outside of running, what are some things that you do to make yourself a better runner? Do you cross train?
I do many Crossfit-esque workouts including burpees, pushups, jumping pullups (trying to get full ones in!) and weight training. I feel that the stronger your body is and the more you help it gain movement, the better runner you can be!
How do you get through a tough run?  I enjoy running with company. Most of my rougher runs are when I’m solo and start to ‘get into my head’ too much. I listen to music or sing aloud. It helps me maintain breathing and positivity.
How about a random fact about yourself?  I’m also asthmatic and have gone from a 10:30/11:00 mile to a now 9:00 mile consistently; if I can do it anyone can!

I really enjoy following Kat’s blog and I think you will too!  Keep in touch with her…

Her awesome blog:  Sneakers and Fingerpaints

Twitter:  KatSnF

Instagam: KatSnF
  • Any questions or comments for Kat?
  • How did you start running?
3 thoughts on “This Week’s Featured Runner #10

Leave a Reply

