Question of the Week Answered: Post Race Problems

I am so very thankful fort the responses to my cry for help with this week’s question!

What post race recovery ideas have you tried to help fight off any potential upset stomach/GI issues?  And have they worked?

Runner’s World Half Marathon Festival Weekend

Here are some of the responses I received to help with stomach/GI issues during or after a race/long run.

-Taking Kaopectate, Tums, or Imodium (before the race)
-Hydrating more
-Eating “real food” soon after the race
-Avoiding dairy before a race
-Try doing a shakeout run afterwards, instead of sitting
-Eat simple white carbs beforehand

I’m seriously going to add all of these great ideas to my race day plan asap.  Thank you all so much contributing…my stomach thanks you too!

Oh, and I’m FINALLY feeling better.

4 thoughts on “Question of the Week Answered: Post Race Problems

  1. I had MAJOR GI issues after my first half marathon. I couldn’t eat anything for at least 2 days after and not run to the bathroom within 10 minutes. I feel your pain 🙂 It’s always a good feeling when all that passes.

  2. Pingback: Runner’s World Marathon Half Recap « Mile Twenty Eight

Leave a Reply

